Character Creation (Cereal)

The idea of speeding up the process of designing to professional standard comes with practise, my new preferred method of creating is literally pencil to paper, without even thinking and letting the lines take form. This techinque has led me to develop fast sketches which curved my annoying habit of erasing my ideas and  trying to perfect one character as oppose to drawing out more.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Finishing the sketching phrase of my characters, I  then had to narrow down my choice for the final cereal cover. My own judgement alongside constructive criticism from my peers, led me to choose the narwhals sketch.

narwharl_wordpress

Having decided on a character ‘Mr Narwhal’, I started to develop a character sheet which is a plan of the various positions and the characters emotion, a sketch layout  alongside with a cereal bowl for added effect in composition.

Character Sheet

Character Sheet

I thought it would be appropriate to do some animal research, so I could improve my sketching and help me illustrate the character.

 

 

Leave a comment